

Search





Post this story to:	
del.icio.us	Reddit
Digg	Slashdot
Print Page	

Related Stories

NIH names Harvard Pioneers, Innovators »

Harvard Initiative for Global Health recipient of NIH Global Health Nutrition grant »

NIH awards Harvard Medical School \$117.5 million, five-year grant for patient-centered research »

President Faust testifies for increase in NIH funding $\,$ »

Nine Harvard faculty members win NIH's Pioneer, Innovator Awards »

Related People Frederick M. Ausubel »

Sylvie Breton »

Gaudenz Danuser »

Ru-Rong Ji »

Charles Serhan »

Loren D. Walensky »

X. Sunney Xie »

Mark Albers »

Fernando Camargo »
Theodore Cohen »

Gabriel Kreiman »

Jorge Rodrigo Mora »

Sunitha Nagrath »

John Pezaris »

Patrick Purdon »

Pardis Sabeti »

Related Programs

NIH funds risky, potentially transformative research by Harvard faculty members

18 Harvard scientists among 115 nationwide to receive grants

SEPTEMBER 24, 2009

ALVIN POWELL

HARVARD STAFF WRITER

Eighteen faculty members at Harvard and Harvard-affiliated institutions are among 115 scientists nationally whose promising and innovative work was recognized today with the announcement of three grant programs by the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

The grants, expected to total \$348 million over five years for recipients nationwide, finance high-risk, high-reward work through the new NIH

Director's Transformative R01 Awards, recognize established researchers through the Pioneer Awards, and they encourage young scientists through New

Innovator Awards. Harvard faculty members were recipients of Transformative and New Innovator awards.

The programs are part of an effort to accelerate the pace of discovery by encouraging highly innovative research, according to the NIH.

"The appeal of the ... programs is that investigators are encouraged to challenge the status quo with innovative ideas, while being given the necessary resources to test them." said NIH Director Francis S. Collins.

In fiscal 2009, Transformative Awards will provide \$30 million to investigators, while **Pioneer Awards** are expected to be funded at \$13.5 million and New Innovator Awards will total \$131 million.

Harvard faculty receiving Transformative Awards:

<!--[if!supportLists]--><!--[endif]-->Frederick Ausubel, professor of genetics at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital.

<!--[if!supportLists]--><!--[endif]-->**Sylvie Breton**, associate professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital.

<!--[if !supportLists]-->Gaudenz Danuser, professor of cell biology at Harvard Medical School.

<!--[if !supportLists]--->Ru-Rong Ji, associate professor of anaesthesia at Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women's Hospital, and Charles Serhan, Simon Gelman Professor of Anaesthesia at Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women's Hospital. Faculty of Arts and Sciences »
Harvard Medical School »
School of Engineering and Applied Sciences »
Harvard School of Public Health »
Harvard Stem Cell Institute »
Department of Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology »
Brigham and Women's Hospital »
Massachusetts General Hospital »
Children's Hospital Boston »
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute »
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center »
Schepens Eye Research Institute »

<!--[if!supportLists]-->Loren Walensky, assistant professor of pediatrics at Harvard Medical School and the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute.

<!--[if!supportLists]-->Xiaoliang Sunney Xie, Mallinckrodt Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences at Harvard University.

Harvard faculty receiving New Innovator Awards:

- <!--[endif]-->Mark Albers, instructor in neurology at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital.
- <!--[if!supportLists]-->Fernando Camargo, assistant professor of stem cell and regenerative biology at Harvard University and Children's Hospital.
- <!--[if !supportLists]-->Theodore Cohen, assistant professor of epidemiology in the Harvard School of Public Health and assistant professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School and Brigham and Women's Hospital.
- <!--[if!supportLists]--> <!--[endif]-->Gabriel Kreiman, assistant professor of ophthalmology at Harvard Medical School and Children's Hospital.
- <!--[if !supportLists]-->Jorge Rodrigo Mora, assistant professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital.
- <!--[endif]-->Sunitha Nagrath, instructor in surgery at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital.
- <!--[if!supportLists]--><!--[endif]-->**John Pezaris**, instructor in surgery at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital.
- <!--[if!supportLists]--><!--[endif]-->Patrick Purdon, instructor in anaesthesia at Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital.
- <!--[if!supportLists]--><!--[endif]-->John Rinn, assistant professor of pathology at Harvard Medical School, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, and the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard.
- <!--[if!supportLists]--> <!--[endif]-->Pardis Sabeti, assistant professor of organismic and evolutionary biology in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences at Harvard University.
- <!--[if !supportLists]-->Magali Saint-Geniez, instructor in ophthalmology at about us | search | contact us | supporting Harvaris Medical School and Schepiens Eye Research Institute.

© 2009 by the President and Fellows of Harvard College